Connect with us

Asaba Metro

Lawmakers of the Seventh Assembly of the Delta State House of Assembly, Inaugurated on Monday, June 10, 2019


DTHA Committees: Ibori Retains Finance and Appropriations, As Osanebi Gets Arts, Culture and Tourism (See Full List))

The daughter of Chief James Ibori, former Governor of Delta State, Honourable Eriathake Ibori-Suenu has retained her chairmanship of the Delta State House of Assembly (DTHA) Committee on Finance and Appropriations, a position she held in the last Assembly even as a first term member.

This development follows the inauguration of 28 standing committees for the 7th Assembly by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori.

“A moved perceived as a reward of loyalty by the current administration of Governor Ifeanyi Okowa to his presumed benefactor”, a political commentator told ASABA METRO.

Meanwhile, the immediate past Deputy Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Friday Osanebi who is no longer enjoying the privileges of a principal officer, was handed the committee on Arts, Culture and Tourism. A committee also gifted Rt. Hon. Monday Igbuya, after his impeachment  as Speaker in the immediate past 6th Assembly.

ALSO READ:  Omo-Agege Reacts to N150 Billion Loan Request by Delta Govt

Speaker Oborevwori who presided over Thursday’s plenary announced the names of the Chairmen and members of the new standing Committees to enhance legislative business.

The House Committee on Legislative Compliance is to be Chaired by the Deputy Speaker, Rt Hon Christopher Ochor Ochor while the Majority Leader Hon Tim Owhefere is the Chairman House Committee on Information.

Other Chairmen of various House committees are Honourable Emomotimi Guwor, DESOPADEC, Honourable Anthony Elekeokwuri, Public Accounts, Honourable Emmanuel Sinebe, Delta State Capital Territory Development Agency and Honourable Charles Emetulu, Education.

The House Committee on Lands, Survey and Urban Development is Chaired by Honourable Reuben Izeze, Power and Energy, Honourable Kenneth Ogba, Health, Honourable Austin Uroye, Environment and, Oil and Gas, Honourable Pullah Ekpotuayerin.

ALSO READ:  Delta Guber Primaries: Oborevwori's Victory, Hand of God, Reward for Loyalty - Enerho

The member representing Warri North is the Chairman House Committee on Youths and Sports,Honourable Felix Anirah, Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Honourable Charles Oniyere, Rules, Business, Legal and Judicial Matters, Honourable Pat Ajudua, Public Petitions and Honourable Solomon Ighrakpata, Special Duties.

The member representing Aniocha North Honourable Emeka Nwaobi chairs the House Committee on Works, Honourable Ferguson Onwo, Housing and Women Affairs, Honourable Asupa Forteta, Peace and Security,Honourable Festus Okoh, Transport,Honourable Innocent Anidi, Establishment, Honourable Matthew Opuoru Trade and Investments.

The House Committee on Water Resources is chaired by Honourable Peter Uviejitobor, Science and Technology, Honourable Moses Anaughe, Agriculture and Natural Resources, Honourable Austin Chikezie, and Urban Renewal Honourable Oboro Preyor.

ALSO READ:  I Will Consolidate On Achievements Of Governor Okowa - Oborevwori

The Speaker, Rt Hon Oborevwori congratulated the Chairmen and members of the various House Committees saying that standing committees in any parliament across the world was key to legislative functions.

He advised them to hit the ground running and put in their best in order to achieve set goals.

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News





To Top