Connect with us

Asaba Metro News

Chief Patrick Ukah


41 Teachers Sanctioned For Examination Malpractice in Delta

Delta State government has sanctioned 41 teachers for examination malpractice during the 2019 West African Senior School Certificate Examination (WASSCE).

They are to suffer deferment of promotion by one year and banned from supervision of any school examination for a period of three years.

These decisions were based on the recommendations of the Examination Ethics Disciplinary Committee of the state and approved on Friday, September 18, 2020 by the state Commissioner for Basic and Secondary Education, Mr. Patrick Ukah.

He has directed the Post Primary Education Board (PPEB) to implement the deferment of promotions by one year of the 41 affected teachers.

ALSO READ:  Delta Assembly Committee on Education Commences Oversight of Institutions, Establishments

While others are being sanctioned, Mr. P. O. Okolo is to be given a letter of commendation for a job well done during the examination.

The Principals and Examination Officers of 13 public secondary schools and one private secondary school indicted for examination malpractice are to be issued with letters of warning by PPEB to desist from acts of negligence.

Mr. Ukah also approved that Anointed Secondary School, Ubogo, Udu Local Government Area, which was closed down last year for examination malpractice be issued a warning letter and allowed to reopen to give the school a second chance to abide by laid down examination ethics.

ALSO READ:  Oborevwori, Obaseki, Okowa extol Patrick Ukah at 60

Furthermore, Mary Mount College, Boji-Boji Owa, was found guilty of examination malpractice and fined N100,000:00 as penalty to act as deterrent to other schools.

The Examination Ethics Disciplinary Committee, headed by the Permanent Secretary in the ministry, Comrade Sam Dietake, has representatives of PPEB, Ministry of Justice, Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), All Nigeria Conference of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPPS), Association of Private School Owners of Nigeria (APSON), National Association of Proprietors of Private Schools (NAPPS) and other officials of the ministry.

ALSO READ:  Governor Oborevwori Committed to Quality Education in Public Primary Schools - Mariere

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

More in Education

To Top