Connect with us

Asaba Metro News

Delta State House of Assembly



What we know so far about Delta State House of Assembly Speaker’s impeachment process…

– The impeachment process occurred as early as 6:am;

– 22 Members signed the Impeachment Notice;

– 21 Members plus the Clerk of the House were present at the sitting;

– The Assembly premises was reported to be cordoned off by Armed personnel (This information is yet to be confirmed);

– The Members moved to the Government House to meet with Governor Okowa just after the Impeachment.

– Delta State House of Assembly workers are in a jubilant mood;

– Activities at the Delta State Government House has been grounded as negotiations are currently on-going;

– The Sitting was presided over by the Deputy Speaker;

ALSO READ:  Ika North-East: Marilyn Okowa-Daramola Reassures Constituents of Quality Representation

– The impeached speaker has been slapped with a three months suspension;

– The Majority Leader, Barr. Tim Ohwofere was also suspended. The Length of the suspension not yet confirmed but reports indicates that he was hammered with an indefinite suspension;

– Hon. Johnson Erijo now Majority leader of Delta State house of Assembly;

– Reasons for the impeachment not yet revealed but might not be so far from the recent face-off between some top members in the House.

List of the 22 Members who signed the Impeachment of Delta Assembly Speaker, Rt. Hon. Monday Igbuya Emerges

Delta Assembly Impeachment

Delta Assembly Impeachment List

Rt. Hon. Friday Osanebi (Ndokwa East); Rt. Hon. Paul Onwusanya (Oshimili South); Hon. Barr. (Princess) Evangelist Pat. Ajudua (Oshimili North); Hon. Angela Nwaka (Aniocha South); Hon (Engr.) Emeka Nwaobi (Aniocha North); Hon. Azuka Azaka (Ndokwa West); Hon. Alphonsus Ojo (Ukwuani); Festus Okoh (Ika South); Anthony Elekeokwuri (Ika North); Micheal Diden (Warri North); Daniel Mayuku (Warri South-West);

ALSO READ:  Delta 8th Assembly Celebrates One Year Anniversary, Reflects on Achievements

Others are, Sheriff Oborevwori (Okpe); Johnson Erijo (Isoko South 2); Hon. (Engr.) Preyor Oboro (Bomadi); Hon. Daniel Yingi (Burutu 1); Hon. Tim Owhefere (Isoko North); Hon. (Prince) Eric Oharisi (Ughelli North 2); Hon. Efe Ofebruku (Uvwie); Hon. Evance Ivwurie (Ethiope East); Hon. Peter Uvejitobor (Udu); Hon. Daubry Kennedy (Burutu 2).

– Cairo Ojougboh kicks against Igbuya’s impeachment says Igbuya’s recent romance with James Ibori triggered the Impeachment Process

– ASABAMETRO can authoritatively report that in the impeachment signatories, the name and signature of the daughter of James Ibori, Hon. Ehritake Ibori was not among those who moved for the process.  She was also sighted with the impeached speaker in the premises of the Delta State Governor’s lodge shortly after the impeachment process.

ALSO READ:  Uviejitobor Lauds Delta Assembly's Strong Partnership with the State Executive

– At the end of the deliberations between Top Political and Party leaders in Delta State, the Executives and Legislators in the State, the Impeachment took a firm stand and Delta State House of Assembly now has a new Speaker.

– The new speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori  adjourned the House sitting to the 23rd of May 2017.

End of Updates!

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Featured





To Top