Connect with us

Asaba Metro News

Chief Jusitce of Nigeria, CJN, Justice Walter Onnoghen


Justice Walter Onnoghen confirmed as the 20th Chief Justice of Nigeria

Justice Walter Onnoghen has been confirmed as Nigeria’s Chief Justice by the Nigerian Senate. He will be the 20th person to occupy the position since 1914, according to judiciary records.

His name was forwarded for screening by Acting President Osinbajo two weeks ago.

The confirmation hearing began with Walter Onnoghen taking senators through his educational background, his service year at the Lagos Ministry of Justice and career till date.

Then Senators asked him how he would ensure that the common man gets justice in the country and the judiciary fast-track the trial of persons for corruption.

Onnoghen agreed with the Senators that there is corruption in the judiciary, but quickly added that his duty will be to reduce the scourge.

ALSO READ:  Breaking News: Nigerian Army Withdraws from Okuama

“We are working to stem this and encourage transparency in our dealings,” he said.

The new chief justice of Nigeria also spoke about his plans to ensure that the judiciary reinforces itself as a separate arm of government and remains the last hope of all Nigerians in the dispensation of justice.

As he put it, every Nigerian will not need to see a judge before he gets justice.

“We shall reinforce our independence. I won’t compromise on that”, Onnoghen told the Senators.

Then he dropped a quote meant for all times: “the Judiciary is not the last hope of the common man, but the last hope of every man”.

Senate President Bukola Saraki described Onnoghen’s nomination, screening and his eventual confirmation as a milestone and a democratic progress.

ALSO READ:  Ex-Lawmakers Appeal to Tinubu Over Unpaid Salaries

He congratulated the new CJN and hoped that he would appreciate more than anyone else, he the responsibility and challenges ahead of him.

Sixty-six year-old Walter Samuel Onnoghen has been a Justice of the Supreme Court of Nigeria since 2005.

He was appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari to succeed, in acting capacity, Justice Mahmood Muhammed in November last year.

He graduated from the University of Ghana at Legon, Ghana in 1977 and from the Nigerian Law School in Lagos in 1978.

Before joining the Supreme Court, he was a judge in Cross River State and a justice of the Court of Appeal.

Onnoghen was born on the 22 December 1950 at Okurike Town, Biase local government area of Cross Rivers State.

ALSO READ:  World Press Day 2024: DOPF Reaffirms Commitment to Professionalism and Ethical Journalism

Here is the list of Nigerian chief justices since 1914:

1. Sir Edwin Speed, 1914-1918

2. Sir Ralph Combe, 1918-1929

3. Donald kingdon, 1929-1946

4. Sir John Verity, 1946-1954

5. Sir Stafford Sutton, 1955-1958

6. Adetokunbo Ademola, 1958-1972

7. Taslim Olawale Elias, 1972-1975

8. Darnley Arthur Alexander, 1975-1979

9. Atanda Fatai Williams, 1979-1983

10. George Shodeinde Sowewimo, 1983-1985

11. Ayo Gabriel Irikefe, 1985-1987

12. Mohammed Bello, 1987-1995

13. Muhammad Lawal Uwais, 1995-2006

14. Salihu Moddibo Alfa Belgore, 2006-2007

15. Idris Legbo Kutigi, 2007-2009

16. Aloysius Iyorgyer Katsina-Alu, 2009-2011

17. Dahiru Musdapher, 2011-2012

18. Aloma Mariam Mukhtar, 2012-2014

19. Mahmoud Mohammed, 2014-2016

20. Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen, November 2016 till date.

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News





To Top