Connect with us

Asaba Metro News

Speaker, Delta State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori


Governor Okowa’s Nominees for DBIR Confirmed by State Assembly

Delta State House of Assembly has confirmed the nominees forwarded to the House by Governor Ifeanyi Okowa for appointment into the Delta State Board of Internal Revenue (DBIR).

The swift confirmation was heralded by a seamless screening of the nominees; Mr Monday Onyeme, Chairman, Mr Mike Edegwhare, Secretary and Mr Godday Daniel as member at Tuesday’s plenary presided over by the Speaker, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori.

The nominees after introducing themselves to members of the House, were presented by the members representing their constituencies in the State Assembly.

The member representing Ndokwa West Constituency, Honourable Charles Emetulu who presented the Chairman nominee said Mr Monday Onyeme has distinguished himself in both the public and private sectors describing him as an asset who has contributed immensely to the growth and development of the People’s Democratic Party.

ALSO READ:  Nigeria Facing Dire Challenges, Needs Fervent Prayers - Oborevwori

He noted that Mr Onyeme has worked tirelessly which made the state to witness an increase in the internally generated revenue of the state saying that he is a grassroots mobiliser.

The member representing Isoko South Two Constituency, Honourable Ferguson Onwo who introduced Mr Mike Edegwhare said the nominee is a lawyer and a founding member of the PDP in Isoko South, a former Council Vice Chairman and former member of some boards in the state.

The third nominee Mr Godday Daniel who was introduced by the member representing Ika North East, Honourable Anthony Elekeokwuri said the nominee is a chartered accountant who has worked at the office of the Auditor General of the Federation and was re-nominated by the governor.

ALSO READ:  Deaconess Oborevwori Condoles Princess Erijo over Mother’s Death

After some questions were asked by the member representing Ughelli South Constituency, Honourable Reuben Izeze the Speaker, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori asked the nominees to take a bow.

The nominees were confirmed following a motion moved by the Majority Leader, Honourable Tim Owhefere and was seconded by the member representing Ika North East Constituency Honourable Anthony Elekeokwuri.

Also at plenary, the House set up a Special Committee on Bills following a motion moved by the Deputy Majority Leader, Honourable Oboro Preyor and was seconded by the member representing Ughelli South Constituency, Honourable Reuben Izeze before being adopted.

ALSO READ:  Delta State Persons Living with Disabilities Bill Passes Second Reading

The members are Honourable Tim Owhefere,Chairman and Honourables Pat Ajudua, Charles Emetulu, Oboro Preyor, Reuben Izeze, Charles Oniyere as members while the Deputy Clerk of the House, Barrister Uto Aghoghovbia will serve as Secretary.

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News





To Top