Eight New Private Universities Approved by Federal Government

Nigeria Universities

A total number of Eight New Private Universities in the country were on Wednesday approved for educational activities by the Federal Executive Council (FEC) in Abuja.

Addressing State House correspondents on the outcome of the FEC meeting, the Minister of State for Education, Prof. Anthony Anwuka, said the approval followed a memo submitted by the Federal Ministry of Education.

He gave the names of the new universities as

  1. Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos, (owned by Deeper Life Christian Ministry)
  2. Arthur Jarvis University, Akpabuyo, Cross River (owned by Clitter House Nigeria Limited)
  3. Clifford University, Owerrinta, Abia, (owned by Seventh Day Adventist Church)
  4. Coal City University, Enugu, (African Thinkers Community of Inquiry College of Education, Enugu)
  5. Crown-Hill University, Eiyenkorin, Kwara (owned by Modern Morgy and Sons Limited)
  6. The Dominican University, Ibadan, (owned by Order of Preachers, Nigerian Dominican Community)
  7. Kola Daisi University, Ibadan, (owned by Kola Daisi Foundation)
  8. Legacy University, Okija in Anambra, (owned by Good Idea Education Foundation)
ALSO READ:  Niger Delta Economy: Five Discussants Selected For DOPF 2021 Lecture

He disclosed that the new universities were being licensed for a three years provisional approval and would be mentored by some existing universities across the country.

Anwuka stated that the University of Lagos would serve as mentor to Anchor University, Ayobo; Arthur Jarvis, Clifford and Coal City Universities would be mentored by University of Calabar, University of Agriculture, Umudike, Umuahia and University of Nigeria, Nsukka, respectively.

The Minister revealed that the University of Ilorin would also serve as mentor to Crown-Hill University in Kwara while Dominican and Kola Daisi Universities in Ibadan would be mentored by the University of Ibadan.


Your Comments Here

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, please send mail to asabametro@gmail.com.