Connect with us

Asaba Metro News

Delta State Commissioners


Delta EXCO: Assembly Okays Nomination of Seven New Commissioners

The Delta State House of Assembly on Thursday, July 11, 2019, confirmed the additional seven nominees for appointment as Commissioners and Members of the Delta State Executive Council.

The confirmation of the nominees whose names where forwarded last Tuesday by Governor Ifeanyi Okowa, followed the successful screening of the nominees at plenary, presided over by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Sherrif Oborevwori.

Those screened and had their appointments confirmed include, Rt. Hon. Martin Okonta, Sir Fidelis Tilije, Engr. Lawrence Ejiofor, Chief Barry Pere Gbe, Hon Julius Egbedi, Mr Churchill Amagada and Olorogun Arthur Akpowowo.

ALSO READ:  Governor Oborevwori Firmly in-Charge of Delta, Group tells Ibori

The nominees were introduced by the respective Lawmakers representing them in the hallowed chamber.

First to be screened was Rt Hon Martins Okonta from Ika South who was asked to take a bow and leave as former Speaker of the Delta State House and also a one time Deputy Majority Leader of the House.

Immediately followed were Engr. Lawrence Ejiofor, from Aniocha South, Chief Barry Pere Gbe, from Bomadi and Hon Julius Egbedi, from Sapele Local Government Area.

Besides Engr Lawrence Ejiofor who was asked a question as regards his days as a Senior Special Assistant to Governor Ifeanyi Okowa, others were given the privilege to take a bow and leave.

ALSO READ:  First Anniversary: Deaconess Oborevwori Thanks Delta Women for Standing by Governor Oborevwori

Sir Fidelis Tilije from Ukwuani and former Commissioner for Water Resource was also asked to take a bow and leave having been screened by the house in the last political dispensation in line with application made by the Majority Leader of the House, Hon Tim Owhefere.

Mr Churchill Amagada from Isoko South and Olorogun Arthur Akpowowo, from Ethiope East were also giving the privilege to bow and go following applications made by the Majority Leader, Tim Owhefere and Minority Leader, Hon Innocent Anidi respectively.

ALSO READ:  Delta State Special Offenses Court Amendment Bill Passes Second Reading

The confirmation of the seven nominees followed a motion to that effect by the Majority Leader, Hon Tim Owhefere, seconded by the Deputy Majority Leader, Hon Oboro Preyor and unanimously adopted.

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News





To Top