Connect with us

Asaba Metro News

Rotimi Akeredolu


APC’s Rotimi Akeredolu Wins Ondo State Governorship Eection

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Rotimi Akeredolu, winner of the 2016 Ondo state governorship election.

The Returning officer in the Ondo state governorship election, Prof. A. Ambali,declared APC’s candidate, Mr. Rotimi Akeredolu, as the governor-elect having polled the total vote of 244, 842 votes, beating his closest rival, Eyitayo Jegede, of the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP), who polled 150, 380. Mr Olusola Oke of the Alliance for Democracy, (AD) follows with 126, 889 votes.

Ambali, who is the Vice Chancellor of the University of Ilorin, put the total number of votes cast at 580,887.

ALSO READ:  Unite your Kingdom, Oborevwori Charges Ewu-Urhobo Monarch

The Returning officer called on all agents of the political parties to sign the final results as collated and announced.

“That I Prof. Ganiyu Ambali certified that I was the returning officer of the election heldon Nov 26, 2016.’’

“It is my pleasure to state here that after the exercise, the people of Ondo state have spoken that Rotimi Akeredolu of APC has been duly elected as governor of the state.”

The break-down of the polls across the 18 local governments are hereunder:

The results from the local governments are hereunder as announced.

APC 4, 253, PDP 7,313 in Ondo East local government PDP
APC 10,681, PDP 8,306 in Ile Oluji Okeigbo local government APC
APC 13,464 PDP 6,493 in Akoko North east local government APC
APC 10,958 PDP 6,742 in Ifedore local government APC
APC 11,138 , AD 6,710, PDP 5,907 in Irele local government APC
APC 13,454, PDP 6,520 Ose local government APC
APC 10,673, PDP 17,382 in Ondo West PDP
APC 6,384, PDP 4,239 in Akoko south east APC
APC 19,892, PDP 7,691, AD 9,359 in Akoko South West APC
APC 13,048, PDP 6,049 in Akoko North West APC
APC 10,710 PDP 6119 Akure north APC
AD 16,294, APC 14,930 Okitipupa local AD
APC 32,988, PDP 4,241 Owo local government APC
APC 10,981, PDP 7,975 Idanre Local APC
APC 17,581, PDP 8,668 Odigbo Local government APC
APC 25,797, PDP 25,005 Akure South Local government APC
APC 10,700, PDP 8,701 Ese Odo local government APC
AD 22,789, APC7, 030, PDP 5, 007 Ilaje local government. AD

ALSO READ:  Governor Oborevwori's First Anniversary: DOPF Seeks MORE Democracy Dividends for Deltans

The collation officers took time to cancel results from polling units where there were discrepancies and violence, including ballot snatching.

Some voters had commended the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC) and security agencies for a hitch-free governorship election.

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News





To Top