Connect with us

Asaba Metro News

Obaseki and Edo State Commissioners


‘No room for Corruption’, Obaseki tells Newly Sworn-in Commissioners

By Lucky Isibor

Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo on Thursday, 6 July, sworn-in 18 commissioners saying that ‘’there is no room for corruption in his administration.

Addressing the commissioners made up of 15 males and 3 females at Government House in Benin City, the governor said their appointment was a call to service and not to make money or accumulate wealth.

He said the commissioners were nominated by their various local government councils and they should live up to the confidence reposed in them.

“We expect that you live above board; your confirmation by the Edo House of Assembly goes to show that you were found worthy to serve the state.

ALSO READ:  Oborevwori Tasks Civil Service Commission To Tackle Ghost Worker Syndrome

“This is the time to build institutions; it is not a time to think about self but to work for the common good of the people.

“Bring your experiences to bear and treat staff with respect and follow laid down rules’’, he said.

Obaseki urged the commissioners to come up with innovative solutions that would help increase internally generated revenue in the state. 

The governor also tasked them on loyalty, accountability and key into the ICT initiative of the present administration saying his administration will run an e- government.

Responding on behalf of other commissioners, Mr Osagie Inegbedion, appreciated the governor for the opportunity given them to serve.

ALSO READ:  Guwor Felicitates With Muslims on Eid el-Fitr Celebration

Inegbedion said that their appointment was a call to service saying ‘’we are committed to serve’’.

Those sworn in are; Hon Yekini Idaiye (Akoko Edo), Hon. Ohonbamu Paul (Egor)‎, Bar. Emmanuel Agbale (Esan Central), Bar. Emmanuel Usoh (Esan North-East), Magdalene Ohenhen (Esan South-East), and Amiolemen Osahon (Esan West).

Others are Hon. Joseph Ughioke‎ (Etsako Central),Mr Mika Amonokha (Etsako East), Mrs. Mariam Abubakar (Etsako West),‎ Osagie Inegbedion‎ (Igueben), Erimona Oye‎ (Ikpoba-Okha) Prof. Yinka Omoregbe‎ (Oredo)

Also sworn-in are Mr Osaze Osemwegie-Ero​ ​(Orhionmwon), Hon. Monday Osaigbovo (Ovia North-East), Dr. Christopher Adesotu (Ovia South-West), Hon. Jimoh Ijegbai‎ (Owan East), Hon. Okun Reginald (Owan West) and Dr David Osifo‎ (Uhunmwode).

Speaking to news men after the swearing-in on the governor’s admonition, one of the Commissioners, Paul Ohonbamu assured that he will work with his colleagues to meet the ultimate expectation of the governor and Edo people, which is happiness for the people.

ALSO READ:  Aniocha North: Nwazormor's Grace Foundation Empowers 50 Youths with N500,000 Each

Ohonbamu who is a former deputy speaker of Edo State House of Assembly, noted that Governor Obaseki was working effectively and noiselessly and all the Commissioners are expected to key into the governor’s legitimate expectations.

“The governor has started and he has been operating effectively and noiselessly, so any body who is appointed Commissioner today is just to key into and act in line with his legitimate expectation”, he said.

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News

To Top