Connect with us

Asaba Metro News

Senator Bukola Saraki and Senator Godswill Akpabio


NigeriaDecides2019: 23 Incumbent Senators Fail Re-Election Bid, As Deltans Return Manager, Omo-Agege and Nwaoboshi

23 incumbent Senators out of the 66 Senators that sought re-election in last Saturday’s rescheduled National Assembly poll, will not be coming back to the Red Chambers going by the results released so far by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

THISDAY reports that, out of the 109-member Senate, 66 Senators won their parties’ tickets last October to contest with 33 others failing in their re-election bid, while eight others will be contesting governorship election in their various states on Saturday, March 9.

Those who lost the senatorial election, according to INEC official results as at press time, include Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki (PDP Kwara Central); Senate Minority Leader, Senator Biodun Olujimi (PDP Ekiti South); former Senate Minority Leader, Senator Godswill Akpabio (APC Akwa Ibom North West); Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso (PDP Kano Central); Senator Shehu Sani (PRP Kaduna Central); Senator Mohammed Hassan (PDP Yobe South); Senator Binta Masi (APC Adamawa North); Senator Isa Misau (PDP Bauchi Central); Senator Rafiu Ibrahim ( PDP Kwara South); Senator George Akume (APC Benue North West); Senator Barnabas Gemade (SDP Benue North); Senator Ahmed Ogembe (Kogi Central) and Aidoko Ali (PDP Kogi East).

ALSO READ:  Ika North-East: Marilyn Okowa-Daramola Reassures Constituents of Quality Representation

Other losers are Senators Tayo Alasoadura (APC Ondo Central); Yele Omogunwa (APC Ondo South); Monsurat Sunmonu (APC Oyo Central); Soji Akanbi (ADC Oyo South); Duro Faseyi (PDP Ekiti North); Andy Ubah (APC Anambra South); Victor Umeh (APGA Anambra Central); Nelson Effiong (APC Akwa Ibom South), Ubali Shittu (PDP North East) and Mao Ohuabunwa (PDP Abia North).

The 19 victorious Senators include Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu (PDP Enugu West); Dino Melaye (PDP Kogi West); Philip Aduda (PDP FCT); Oluremi Tinubu (APC Lagos Central); Abdullahi Adamu (APC Nasarawa West); Sabi Abdullahi (APC Niger North); Francis Alimikhena (APC Edo North); Abdulfatai Buhari (APC Oyo North) and Stella Oduah (PDP Anambra North).

ALSO READ:  Urhobo, Ijaw, Itsekiri: Stakeholders Brainstorm on Executing Court-ordered Delineation of Warri Federal Constituency

Other victorious senators are Ahmad Baba-Kaita (APC Katsina North); Ajayi Boroffice (APC Ondo Central); Chukwuka Utasi (PDP Enugu North); Akpan Bassey (PDP Akwa Ibom North East); Adamu Aliero (APC Kebbi Central); Bala Ibn Na’Allah (APC Kebbi South); Abdullahi Yahaya (APC Kebbi East); Kabiru Gaya (APC Kano South); Barau Jibrin (APC Kano South); Danjuma La’ah (PDP Kaduna South), Aliyu Wammako (APC Sokoto North), Danladi Sankara (APC Jigawa North West); and Sabo Muhammed (APC Jigawa Central).

In Delta State, the three incumbent Senators defeated their opponents to secure another term in the Red Chambers.

ALSO READ:  Delta LG Polls: Oborevwori Makes Case for Gender Inclusiveness

In Delta South senatorial district, James Manager of the PDP defeated the immediate past governor of Delta State, Emmanuel Uduaghan of the APC.

Senator Manager who will be returning to the Red Chambers for the Fifth term, polled 258,812 votes to win Uduaghan who struggled to get 125,776 votes.

In another keenly contested battle in Delta Central senatorial district, saw incumbent Senator and candidate of the APC, Ovie Omo-Agege polling a total of 111,100 votes to defeat Evenly Oboro, the PDP candidate who got 99,422 votes.

And in Delta North senatorial district, incumbent Senator, Peter Nwaoboshi has been reelected for a second term. Senator Nwaoboshi, the candidate of the PDP, polled 186,423 votes to defeat the APC Candidate, Doris Uboh who garnered 36,350 votes.

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Politics

To Top