Connect with us

Asaba Metro News

Justice Okon Abang transferred to Asaba


Justice Okon Abang transferred to Asaba, as FHC redeploys 11 Judges

The Chief Judge of the Federal High Court, Justice Ibrahim Auta, has redeployed 11 judges in the different divisions of the court with Justice Okon Abang redeployed to Delta State.

PUNCH reports that, the Chief Judge, in a circular dated December 21, 2016 and addressed to “All Judges of Federal High Court,” redeployed Justice Liman from Port Harcourt to Enugu Division, and Justice Abang redeployed from Abuja to Asaba Division, Delta State.

The circular obtained from a lawyer close to the Chief Judge’s office directed the affected judges to resume at their new stations by January 30.

ALSO READ:  Delta State Assembly Workers On Strike Over Unpaid Salaries

The Chief Judge gave “the recent developments in the court” as the reason for the posting.

Details of the said “recent developments” were not stated in the circular.

According to the circular, the posting would not affect the criminal cases the affected judges are currently handling.

It read in part, “In view of the fact some divisions are currently short of judges following the recent developments in the court, it has become necessary to take urgent steps to fill in existing vacancies.

ALSO READ:  Strike: Delta Speaker Meets with PASAN Leadership to Address Workers' Grievances

“Affected judges are expected to resume in their new divisions by January 30, 2017.

“The judges shall continue with the hearing of criminal cases currently before them, as well as at least two witnesses have testified.”

Others affected include Justice S. Saidu (moved from Lagos to Port Harcourt); Justice A.O. Faji (from Asaba to Lagos); Justice R. M. Aikawa (from Sokoto to Lagos); Justice B.O. Quadri (from Port Harcourt to Abuja); and Justice Mallong Hoommuk (from Port Harcourt to Lafia).

ALSO READ:  Demolition not Targeted at Anyone - Delta Taskforce Chairman

Others are, Justice K.K. Dagat (from Lagos to Kano); Justice Saleh Idrissa (Kano to Sokoto); Justice H.I.O. Oshomah (from Lafia to Port Harcourt) and Justice J.K. Omotosho) from Kano to Port Harcourt.

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News

To Top