Connect with us

Asaba Metro News

Joint National Assembly Committee on Works Visit Delta State


Joint National Assembly Committee on Works Visit Delta State

Joint National Assembly Committee on Works led by Senator Kabiru Gaya, Monday 19th Dec. 2016, visited Delta State for an oversight on the performance of the 2016 budget.

Receiving the Joint Committee Members to the State, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa said that the legislature must cooperate with the executive arm in carrying out their oversight functions in order for the growth of democracy.

“National Assembly is doing very well, it must continue to maintain their watch dog functions, you must work hand in hand with the executive and apply your watchdog functions”, the governor said, adding, “the strengthening of the legislature is vital for the democracy”

ALSO READ:  Governor Oborevwori's First Anniversary: DOPF Seeks MORE Democracy Dividends for Deltans

While decrying the destruction to the roads by articulated vehicles, Senator Okowa called for the regulation of the movement of heavy duty vehicles in the country.

“There is the need to have a policy direction in which heavy duty trucks will not be allowed to ply designated roads, a lot of roads have been destroyed by these trucks especially those above 30 tonnes as they ply roads not originally designed to carry their weight”, he said, adding “some federal and state roads have failed because of this, we need to designated appropriate roads for them to ply as is done in other clime”.

ALSO READ:  Evwreni Ward 8 PDP Stakeholders Adopt Zoning Arrangements, Seek Party's LG Chairmanship

Senator Gaya informed Governor Okowa that they were in Asaba to supervise the progress of work on the second Niger Bridge “which is dear to the federal and state government and link Delta State and other South Eastern States”.

He said that the bridge is a Public –Private project and government has earmarked funds to meet its part of the counterpart funding. Gaya commended Governor Okowa for his infrastructural development projects and the quality of state representation in the National Assembly.

Other members of the Committee are Senators Clifford Ordia,, Bukar Ibrahim, Biodun Olajumoke, Barnabas Gemade, Mao Ohabunwa, Abdullahi Danbaba, Ben Bruce and Hon Solomon Maren and Hon. Sani Abdu.

ALSO READ:  Akpowowo Urges Mass Awareness of State Assembly's Bills and Resolutions

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News





To Top