Connect with us

Asaba Metro

Delta State Governor, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa (7th right), his Deputy, Barr. Kingsley Otuaro (6th right), Minority Leader, House of Representatives, Rt Hon Ndudi Elumelu (7th left), the Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori (6th left), in a group photograph with the newly inaugurated State Advisory Council in Asaba.


Governor Okowa Engages 42 New Appointees for Advisory Role

Delta State Governor, Senator (Dr) Ifeanyi Okowa has inaugurated the state’s Advisory and Peace-Building Council, with a charge to members to avail his administration with adequate guide that would engender effective governance in the state.

Okowa at the inauguration ceremony on Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at Unity Hall, Government House, Asaba, said that the council was expected to support the government regularly with expert advice and services without prompting.

The governor said that the main responsibilities for the council included the power to study the general socio-economic and political situations in the state and offer advice to the government.

According to him, the council will advise on issues that can lead to a healthy relationship between the three arms of government – Executive, Legislature and Judiciary.

“This objective shall also be adopted with regards to the local government councils as it will also render advice on issues, which can strengthen the harmonious relationships with the Federal Government and states.

ALSO READ:  SEPCOL Releases Further Developments on Fire Incident Aboard FPSO Trinity Spirit

“It will also study the causes of conflicts among various communities in the State and advise on measures to effectively mitigate them, and further advise on appropriate peace-building mechanisms to ensure the sustainability of various peace programmes of government.

“The council is also expected to deliberate and advise on any matter referred to it by government and bring up new initiatives for the administration’s sustained efforts at maintaining the peaceful co-existence of our people, including residents in the State.

“The state government is at all times, seeking for ways to strengthen the base for the peace and unity of the different ethnic nationalities, in addition to inter and intra-community relations in the State.

“This is, because no meaningful development can take place in the absence of peace. By the special grace of God, in the last four years, we have had a largely peaceful state; that is one major reason we were able to achieve the much we did,” he said.

ALSO READ:  Okowa, Uduaghan, Others for 2022 NUJ Warri Chapel's Week

Okowa stated that some of the credit for the achievements would go to the Advisory and Peace Building Council.

He congratulated the 42-member Council, and urged the members to always work for harmonious, peaceful co-existence in every part of the state.

He appealed to the citizens to continue to cooperate and partner his administration to ensure sustainable development in every part of the state, adding that the government would continue to tap from the wealth of experience of elders.

The council has Prof. Sam Oyovbaire as Chairman, while members are Chief Benjamin Elue, Prof. Amos Utuama, Prince Sam Obi, Chief Chris Agbogwu, Chief Brodrick Bozimo, Brig.-Gen. B. Demeyeibo (retd), Chief Mike Adiotomre and  Chief Ignatius Agidi.

Others are Chief Patrick Egone, Mr John Nwagimeje, Senator Stella Omu, Chief Paul Enebeli, Senator Patrick Osakwe, Dr. (Mrs) Felicia Nwaeze, Prof. E.C. Nwanze, Dr. Pius Sinebe, Chief Joseph Ejigba, Chief Eddie Sorhue, Chief (Mrs) Esther Uduehi and Chief E.O. Oborfukoro.

ALSO READ:  Delta 2023: Edevbie Model is "Power With Purpose"

Also inaugurated as members are Chief Robert Ejifoma, Pa. John Edah, Dr. Roland Oritsejafor, Chief E. E. Ebimani, Chief Judith Enamuotor, Rev. Gideon Oyibo, Mr Joseph Ikhena, Chief Denis Etaluku, Prof. Sam Ukala, Chief Jonathan Uyeri and Chief Samuel Okoro.

Mrs Felicia Ajagu, Chief Theodora Giwa-Amu, Chief (Mrs) Felicia Sani, Rev. Oke Akokotu, Mr Ayo Odonmeta, Chief Emmanuel Okumagba, Rear Admiral Mike Onah (retd), Chief Margaret Unukegwo, Chief (Mrs) Grace Boyo and Rt. Rev. Justus Mogekwu are among the members.

Responding on behalf of the members, Oyovbaire thanked the governor for the confidence reposed in them, and said “we know that you listen and that you are focused.

“We will work with you and do our best to make our state better, because you are a peace builder.”

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in News





To Top