Connect with us

Asaba Metro News

Delta State House of Assembly (DTHA)

The Arena

DTHA Party Primaries: How Members Of The Sixth Assembly Stand

The just concluded parties primaries for the 2019 general elections saw fourteen members of the present Sixth Delta State House of Assembly (DTHA) winning their ticket either to return to the house or moved up to contest for the National Assembly seat of their various federal constituencies.

From the reports gathered, all the principal officers of the house except one, won their return tickets, in addition to six others, bringing the total number of those contesting the 2019 State House of Assembly Election in the present House to twelve.

They include, the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori, Okpe, Deputy Speaker, Rt. Hon. Friday Osanebi, Ndokwa East, Majority Leader, Hon Tim Owhefere, Isoko North, Deputy Majority Leader, Oboro Preyor, Bomadi, Chief Whip, Pat Ajudua, Oshimili North and Majority Whip, Eric Oharisi, Ughelli North Two Constituency.

ALSO READ:  (The Arena) Ovie Omo-Agege: Like the Chichidodo

The Deputy Whip of the House, Hon Michael Diden, Warri North had contested for the primaries of the Delta South Senatorial seat but lost to the incumbent, Senator James Manager.

Other members that won their return tickets to contest the general election to the House include, Hon Anthony Elekeokwuri, Ika North East, Festus Okoh, Ika South, Ehriatake Ibori-Suenu, Ethiope West, Peter Uviejitobor, Udu, Reuben Izeze, Ughelli South and Emeka Nwaobi, Aniocha North Constituency.

Hon Samuel Mariere, Ughelli North One, won the PDP ticket to contest the Ughelli/Udu Federal Constituency seat, while Hon Monday Igbuya, Sapele and Kennedy Daubry, Burutu two were said to be flying the APC flag for Sapele/Okpe/Uvwie and Burutu Federal Constituencies seats contest respectively.

ALSO READ:  Buying Land In Asaba: 5 Simple Process To Follow

Those that contested the primaries either for return ticket or House of Representatives seat but lost, include, Rt Hon Peter Onwusanya, Oshimili South, Daniel Mayuku, Warri South West, Angela Nwaka, Aniocha South, Alphonsus Ojo, Ukwuani, Daniel Yingi, Burutu One, Orezi Esievo, Isoko South One, Shola Daibo, Warri South One and Timi Tonye, Patani.

Those that did not contest the primaries include, Johnson Erijo, Isoko South Two, Efe Ofobruku, Uvwie, Azuka Azaka, Ndokwa West, Dennis Omovie, Warri South Two Constituency.

As at the time of filling in this report, it was not clear the position of the authorities on the primaries of Ethiope East Constituency which the incumbent, Hon Evance Ivwurie is contesting for return ticket to the house under the PDP.

ALSO READ:  (The Arena) Omo-Agege and the Trauma of Political Defeat

The twelve members of the present Sixth Assembly who won their tickets and all members of the ruling PDP in the state will slug it out with candidates of other political parties in the general election.

While the three others for the Federal House of Representatives contests, one of PDP and two APC are also to face their opponents in the general election.

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

More in The Arena





To Top