Connect with us

Asaba Metro News

Delta State Governor, Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa


Delta 2019: INEC Officially Declares Okowa as Winner and Governor Elect

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC has declared Dr Ifeanyi Okowa, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP as Winner and Governor Elect of Saturday’s, March 9, 2019 gubernatorial poll held in the State.

Reeling out the official results and subsequent declaration, the state collating officer, Prof Seth Accra Jaja announced that the total Number of Voters in the state is 2, 831,205 and for the 2019 gubernatorial election, a total of 1,188,784 voters were accredited for the exercise with a record of 1,178,335 votes cast. The total valid votes stood at 1,154,188 while 24,147 votes were rejected.

ALSO READ:  Oborevwori, Uduaghan, Okowa, join Ukodhiko in Thanksgiving

According to the announced results, the second runner up who is the candidate of the African Democratic Congress, ADC, scored 2,031 votes while the first runner up and sixth time gubernatorial contestant, Chief Great Ogboru of the All Progressives Congress, APC, polled a total vote of 215,938 votes.

Declaring the candidate of the PDP, and the incumbent Governor as winner of the keenly contested poll, Prof Jaja said, “The winner of this election is Ifeanyi Arthur Okowa. He polled a total of 925,274 votes and by the power conferred on me by the electoral act, I hereby declare that the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law by scoring the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected.”

ALSO READ:  PDP Chieftain, Okpubigho Congratulates Oborevwori on Supreme Court Victory

He commended the security agencies and the Resident Electoral Commissioner for their contribution and support throughout the process.

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, kindly send mail to

1 Comment

1 Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    More in Politics





    To Top