FIFA Crowns Cristiano Ronaldo “The Best Men’s Player 2016”

FIFA Crowns Cristiano Ronaldo The Best Men’s Player 2016
Infantino Presents Cristiano Ronaldo With FIFA Award / P.C FIFA

Cristiano Ronaldo has completed a clean sweep of major individual awards this season after being voted The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2016 at a ceremony in Zurich.

Ronaldo bested France’s Antoine Greizmann and long-time Barcelona rival Lionel Messi of Argentina for the honour.

A month ago Ronaldo, 31, reclaimed the Ballon d’Or from Lionel Messi and in August was handed the UEFA Best Player in Europe Award for a second time.

Those accolades were recognition for a memorable year in which Ronaldo lifted the UEFA Champions League before captaining his country to a first international trophy at UEFA EURO 2016.

He finished 2016 by scoring a hat-trick in the FIFA Club World Cup final against Kashima Antlers, taking his tally of goals for the calendar year to 42 for Madrid, in addition to the 13 he managed for Portugal.

ALSO READ:  Wrestling Styles

Cristiano Ronaldo Record Analysis

“2016 was the best year of my career, the trophy shows that people aren’t blind and watch the games,” he said as he collected his award. “With everything I won with my national team and club, with great individual performance, I can’t forget this incredible year. Thanks for voting for me.”

Full winners at The Best FIFA Football Awards …

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal)
The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash/United States)
The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Claudio Ranieri (Leicester)
The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Silvia Neid (Germany)
FIFA Fair Play Award: Atlético Nacional (Colombia)
FIFA Puskás Award (best goal): Mohd Faiz Subri (Penang)
FIFA Fan Award: Liverpool and Dortmund supporter during their UEFA Europa League quarter-final
FIFA FIFPro World 11: Manuel Neuer (Bayern München/Germany); Dani Alves (Juventus/Brazil), Gerard Piqué (Barcelona/Spain), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/Spain), Marcelo (Real Madrid/Brazil); Toni Kroos (Real Madrid/Germany), Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona/Spain), Luka Modrić (Real Madrid/Croatia); Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal), Luis Suárez (Barcelona/Uruguay).

ALSO READ:  Okowa Sacks Delta Cabinet, Orders Civil Servants to Take Charge

Ronaldo won the FIFA World Player of the Year in 2008 and the FIFA Ballon d’Or, which ran from 2010 to 2015 in conjunction with France Football magazine, in 2013 and 2014.


Your Comments Here

For advert placement, publication of news content, articles, videos or any other news worthy materials on this Website, please send mail to